View previous topic :: View next topic  
Netman0217
Casual
Forum Browser

re: A "Evening" of an IT guy...

So you saw my shoutout ....I thought I would vent some frustration and share with you all a piece of my life.

I am a Sr. Network Engineer by trade (Cisco guy) so I babysit networks so people can enjoy the connectivity of the WWW, without beech'n about it being to slow. I apply my craft for a fortune 500 company, so if there is a network issue in Timbuktu at 2am, I get the call.

So, I get called at 7pm that I need to work at 8pm because some idiot at the power company (the people that own the majority of fiber ran in the city) decided that they are going to do some "maintenance" tomorow, so they are moving our circuits to another fiber plant and it should only take "a few minutes". So I said cool, I can go in babysit them, then get on to WoW and do raid BT.

The only issue is that the one of my Internet circuits goes down, but it doesn't come back up ("It's dead, Jim."). So I call into support and say "Hey, my circuit hasn't come back yet. What's going on?"

This leads to FOUR HOURS of "Sir, can you shut down the interface and reset it to see if comes back up?" and me saying "Nope, still not working" before they finally decided to escalate this to other engineers.

This leads to FOUR MORE HOURS of "Sir, can you shut down the interface and reset it to see if comes back up?" and me saying "Nope, still not working" but I at least get a new repsonse from the new engineers "Gee, everything looks fine for both sides, we are testing cleaning maybe its a problem with your equipment." But after the four hours, they agree to send someone out to the site to troubleshoot the problem further.